• UNM
  • >Home
  • >Dept Resources
  • >Student Directory

UNM HGSA Student Directory


Andonian, Raffi
raffi@unm.edu
M.A.
Austin, Shawn
saustin2@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)

Concentration: Colonial Latin America, Ethnohistory, Gender & Sexuality

Research Interests: Indigenous groups, African slavery

Dissertation: "Beyond the Missions: Ethnogenisis in Colonial Paraguay, 1556-1700"

Adviser: Kimberly Gauderman

Baca, Jacabo
smouth@unm.edu
Baker, Shelby
sjbaker@unm.edu
Barthelemy, Michael
mbarthel@unm.edu
M.A.
Berch, Matthew
mberch@unm.edu
Biro, Jordan
jbiro01@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)
Blahut, Adam
ablahut@unm.edu
Britenriker, Nawana
nbritenr@unm.edu
Caplan, Ramona
Carleton, William
wcarleto@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)

Concentration: U.S./American West, Environmental History

Research Interests: Environment; Agriculture

Adviser: Virginia Scharff

Christensen, Robert
Christopher, Meara
Cole, Erin
Cook, Candolin
Cozart, Daniel
dcozart1@unm.edu
Ph.D.

Concentration: Latin America, Race & Ethnicity

Research Interests: Race & Ethnicity in Modern Peru; Inter-American Relations; African Diaspora in Latin America

Dissertation: "Afro-Peruvian Creoles: The Social and Political History of Black Peruvians in an Era of Revolution and Scientific Racism"

Crago, Scott
scrago1@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)

Concentration: Modern Latin America, Ethnohistory, Gender and Sexuality

Research Interests: Race and ethnicity; Agrarian studies; Ethnomusicology; Social movements

Dissertation: “Plan Perquenco and Mapuche Cultural Revival During the Pinochet Era, 1973-1990”

Adviser: Elizabeth Hutchison

Crandall, Maurice
mc437@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)
DePond, Margaret
mdepond@unm.edu
Ph.D.
Dodge, Neil
ndodge18@unm.edu
Dodson, Julian
Ebel-Louth, Liz
eebellou@unm.edu
M.A.

Concentration: Europe from 1815

Thesis: "Volksdeutsche to Vertriebenen: Expellee Women in West Germany, 1945-1953"

Adviser: Melissa Bokovoy

Edwards Obenauf, Sarah
sobenauf@unm.edu
M.A.

Concentration: Western World to 1500

Research Interests: Medieval travel & pilgrimage; Medical pilgrimage

Adviser: Sarah Davis-Secord

Ellis, Rebecca
ellisb@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)
Franke, Thomas
tfrank01@unm.edu
M.A.
Friot, Elena
efriot@unm.edu
Ph.D.

Concentration: United States since 1877, War & Society

Research Interests: World War I & II, Memory and Commemoration, Popular Culture, Advertising, Photography, Visual Culture

Adviser: Jason Scott Smith

Garcia, Susan
sgarci12@unm.edu
George, Jennifer
jgeorge2@unm.edu
Gonzales, Ricardo
Gorman, Zonnie
zgorman@unm.edu
Griego, Breanna
Hudak, Caitlen
chudak@unm.edu
Jara, Alexander
ajara77@unm.edu
Ph.D.
Jennings, Sheilah
Kane, Adam
Karns, Samuel
skacorns12@unm.edu
Kemp, John
Kontos, Katherine
rygel@unm.edu
Korostyshevsky, Daivd
dkorosty@unm.edu
Kostelecky, Steven
skostele@unm.edu
Ph.D.
Kubica, Victoria
Lara, Sandra
Latteri, Natalie
nlatteri@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)

Concentration: Europe, Religion

Research Interests: Jewish-Christian Relations; Comparative Mysticism; Messianism & Apocalypticism; Gender & Alterity

Dissertation: "Liaisons of an Unfaithful Woman: Whoredom, Teshuvah, and Apocalyptic Subtexts in the Chronicle of Solomon bar Samson"

Adviser: Michael Ryan

Lilienthal, Jason
skywise@unm.edu
Loftfield, Ella
ellakari@unm.edu
Lopez, Jose
Mandrgoc, Stephen
smandr@unm.edu
Manning, Kylie
kman1903@unm.edu
Marchesi, Eugene
marcus67@unm.edu
Marshall, Jairo
Martinez, Nydia
nydia100@unm.edu
McClellan, Guy
gmcclell@unm.edu
Ph.D.

Concentration: American West, Environmental History

Research Interests: Post-WWII American West; National parks; tourism/recreation; Family vacations & gender politics; Cognitive mapping; Urban History

Thesis: "Hippies in the Park: Yosemite and the Sixties Counterculture in the American West"

Adviser: Virgina Scharff

McCully, Katherine
kmccully@unm.edu
McGehee, Ellen
McPherson, Jennifer
jmcphers@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)

Concentration: U.S. since 1877, Gender & Sexuality

Research Interests: Women's history; Women and politics; Urban history

Dissertation: " 'Not Your Mother's PTA': Gender, Race, and Polity in Building America's Schools, 1950-2000"

Adviser: Cathleen Cahill

Meyers, Kate
kemeyers@unm.edu
Morris, Carson
cmorris@unm.edu
Mowahed, Kaveh
Owens, James
jowens@unm.edu
Pafford, David
pafford@unm.edu
Peterson, Donna
schankd2@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)

Concentration: United States, American West

Research Interests: Catholic Indian missions in Montana and Wyoming

Dissertation title: Conflict, Tension, Strength:The History of the St. Paul's Mission, St.Labre Indian School, and St. Stephen's Indian School, 1884-Present

Adviser: Margaret Connell-Szasz

Pinkins, Carlyn
cpinkins@unm.edu
Ph.D.
Powell, Laura
lpowel5@unm.edu
Ph.D.

Concentration: Latin America, American West

Research Interests: Indigenous/Native history; Race & Ethnicity; Human Rights; Inter-American Relations

Adviser: Kimberly Gauderman

Price, Pamela
pprice@unm.edu

Raspa, Darren
draspa@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)

Concentration: U.S. West, Race & Ethnicity

Research Interests:

Gilded Age and Progressive Era, Law Enforcement History, History of Crime and Deviance, Urban History, Pacific History, Transnational History, Immigration History, Cultural History, History of Power   

Dissertation: “Pacific Policeways: Grassroots Community Control and Power in San Francisco, 1850-1920”

Adviser: Andrew Sandoval-Strausz

Reiniche, Angela
areinich@unm.edu
Ph.D.
Rhymer, Scott
srhymer@unm.edu
Romero, Gregorio
gromero1@unm.edu
M.A.
Santos, Moises
santosm@unm.edu
M.A.
Schumaker, Thomas
Solon, Emma
esolon@unm.edu
Stachura, Christopher
Stein, Bree
brstein@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)

Concentration: U.S./American West, Environmental History

Research Interests: Environment, Urban History

Adviser: Cathleen Cahill

Steinke, Christopher
Strykowski, Jason
jstrykow@unm.edu
Stuart, Jason
Sweeney, Lean
Tippeconnic, Eric

Turo, Bryan
bturo@unm.edu
Ph.D. (ABD)

Concentration:U.S./American West, Politics & Economy

Dissertation: "An Empire of Dust: Thomas Benton Catron and the Rise of Corporate Enterprise in New Mexico, 1866-1921"

Adviser: Samuel Truett

Vanucci-St. George, Rebecca
rvanucci@unm.edu

Veeder, William
wveeder@unm.edu
Vigil, Christopher
cvigil6Co6@unm.edu
Wallace, Jerry
wallace1@unm.edu
Wickett, Kevin
Winchester, Ian
iwinches@unm.edu

Social Events

HGSA Happy Hours @ 4:30pm
Apr. 14, Kaktus Brewing
May 5, Nob Hill Bar and Grill 

History Events

April 13th
Dr. Andrew Hartman
A War for the Soul of America: A History of the Culture Wars 
Common Room
2:00-4:00Pm

April 14-15th
Practicing Asylum: Expert Witness Testimony in Latin American Asylum Cases
SUB Lobo A&B
Click here for the for conference program. 

May 1st
Monthly HGSA Meeting
12:00-1:00pm (MVH 1101)
Lunch provided